Carol Selinske Founder's Award Nomination


The HPCANYS Governance Committee is seeking nominations for the annual Carol Selinske Founder’s Award that is named after the first director of the New York State Hospice Association who retired in 1993.  The HPCANYS award publicly recognizes an individual or group of individuals for their outstanding efforts on behalf of hospice and the needs of the terminally ill in New York State.
The criteria for this prestigious honor are: 
  • Consistent and professional representation of hospice and palliative care and the needs of the terminally ill in New York State;
  • Outstanding efforts in enhancing the awareness and education of the hospice concept; and
  • Exemplary leadership in local, New York and/or national hospice and palliative care efforts.
To Nominate an Individual:
  • A letter of nomination laying out the above criteria with 2 examples of each and
  • Nominee’s current resume or curriculum vitae should be submitted by August 30, 2020 to: or
USPS mailed to the HPCANYS office at 24 Computer Drive West, Suite 104, Albany 12205 

The Governance Committee will review and select the recipient, who will be announced and recognized at the Annual Meeting on November 16, 2020 during the luncheon.  

Previous Selinske Award Recipients 
1993 - Carol Selinske2007 - Amy Stern
1994 - Gerald E. Nye2008 - Mary Cooke and Marianne Gillan
1995 - Charlotte Shedd2009 - Susan Huff
1996 - Judy A. Donovan2010 - Richard Tinger
1997 - Phil DiSorbo2011 - Diane Meier, MD, FACP
1998 - Peter Sarver 2012 - Russell Portenoy, MD
1999 - Connie A. Raffa 2013 - J. Donald Schumacher
2000 - Amber B. Jones2014 - Patricia Bomba, MD, FACP
2001 - Maureen Bryden 2015 - Jeanne Dennis
2002 - William E. Finn2016 - Kathy McMahon
2003 - Maureen Hinkelman 2017 - Dan Grady
2004 - Mary Ann Starbuck2018 - Dale Johnson
2005 - Mary Lerner2019 - Roger Sullivan
Carol Luhrs, MD, Joseph Striano, Therese Cortez